A Comprehensive Guide To The 12 Houses Of Astrology

Astrology goes beyond reading your horoscope daily – diving deeper into astrological charts can bring more clarity to your daily life.

If you have already read your astrological birth chart, you may have heard about the Twelve Houses. Astrology can be a fascinating tool that helps you to understand more about yourself and others. 

As we get more familiar with it and get to know further details about our sun, moon, and rising signs things start to make more sense. 

Photo by Nastya Dulhiier on Unsplash

The birth chart is divided into 12 equal sections, which are called the Houses. They represent the different aspects of our lives according to our time and birth location and reveal distinct nuances of our personality. So let’s check each one of them.

The First House of Self

Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Aries & Mars

Also known as the ascendant, the first house represents our sense of self, our physical appearance, and the image we project into others. It’s also related to new beginnings and new cycles – like our approach to new projects.

The Second House of Possessions

Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Taurus & Venus

The second house is related to tangible things like finance, possessions, and money, especially our attitude towards those things. This house is also connected to values. That means not only how you value your material things but also how you value yourself.

The Third House of Communication

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Gemini & Mercury

The house of communication moves slightly from the inner world towards the outer world. It is how we communicate with others, how we express ourselves and relate to everything and everyone. Communication is the solution to most problems and the basis for all healthy relationships, so we should honor this house.

The Fourth House of Home and Family

Photo by Jimmy Dean on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Cancer & The Moon

The foundation of the home and family unit is what the fourth house is about. It’s a reminder and encouragement to invest in a safe space that makes us feel love and cared for. The house also relates to our ancestors, memories, and our past.

The Fifth House of Pleasure

Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Leo & The Sun

The fifth house is the house of pleasure, playfulness, and creative energy. This covers things like hobbies and recreational activities that you do just to make yourself happy and things related to love, romance, and sex.

The Sixth House of Health

Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Virgo & Mercury

The Sixth House corresponds with health, wellness, and daily routines. It’s all about self-care and how much we care for our overall health, from a healthy and balanced diet to mental and physical health.

The Seventh House of Partnership

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Libra & Venus

As opposed to the first house, the seventh house is all about our one-on-one interaction with others. It rules all kinds of relationships and partnerships, including business and loving relationships.

The Eighth House of Sex, Death, and Transformation

Photo by We-Vibe WOW Tech on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Scorpio & Pluto

Even if you don’t think that sex, death, and transformation have no connection whatsoever, they have, indeed. They’re all about instincts and intensity. For instance, those with natal planets in this house may often be attracted to supernatural topics, have intense romances, and will likely go through several makeovers within their lifetime.

The Ninth House of Philosophy

Photo by Giammarco on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Sagittarius & Jupiter

The house of philosophy is linked to ideas, knowledge, religion, and core belief systems. Those born with natal planets in this house are curious by nature and quite inquisitive.

The Tenth House of Social Status

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Capricorn & Saturn

The tenth house, the house of public image, is all about social status, professional aspirations, reputation, and achievements. Natal Planets in this house shows ambitious individuals.

The Eleventh House of Friendship

Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Aquarius & Uranus

The house of friendship is linked to teamwork, friendship, and social work. It is also connected to lifelong goals and aspirations and our role on this planet, in the sense of what we can do to better mankind.

The Twelfth House of the Unconscious

Photo by Zach Vessels on Unsplash

Naturally ruled by: Pisces & Neptune

The connection between the known and unknown. Between spirit and matter. The final house is all about mysticism, and it represents the revolution of our souls on the planet. It rules our unconsciousness, karma, spirituality and past life traumas.

Written By:
Camila Santiago

Recommended Posts